Sturminster Marshall

Sturminster Marshall Pre-School

Curriculum & Assessment


We follow the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum which was last revised in September 2021.
The learning and development areas are divided into prime and specific areas. 

The three prime areas, noted as ‘crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive’ (EYFS, 2017) are:

The specific areas are:

Within each of these areas are early learning goals.  It is these goals that we use to attain children’s level of progress through the EYFS.

Characteristics of effective learning:-

Referring to these characteristics of learning shows how a child learns alongside what they are – Again this reinforces the importance of recognising each child as unique.

Early Years Foundation Stage Statutory Framework

What to expect,when


Assessment is achieved through observation of the children during their play.  This produces evidence to support what each child’s key person knows about them and has observed during their play.  This is regularly updated by the child’s key person. The children’s files can be reviewed on request.

Each child has an online learning journal though ‘Tapestry’ to record the children’s learning and development.  This software enables parents/carers to access their child’s file and make additions and comments to these files.  You will receive an email when work is added to your child’s journal.